Art History was founded in 1978 by John Onians. Writing in its first issue, he made clear that it was then the journal’s prime responsibility ‘to provide the subject with more room for growth, and this means that in the exploration of new fields for research no materials, no tools, no methods and no language will be excluded.’ This commitment, upheld ever since then, still stands for today’s editors, a team of four, supported by both an editorial board and an international advisory board.

Dorothy Price, University of Bristol

Deputy Editor
Jeanne Nuechterlein, University of York

Reviews Editor
Margit Thøfner, University of East Anglia

Managing Editor
Samuel Bibby, Association for Art History

Editorial Board
Rosalind P. Blakesley, University of Cambridge
Lucy Bradnock, University of Nottingham
Richard Checketts, University of Leeds
Patrizia Di Bello, Birkbeck, University of London
Rosie Dias, University of Warwick
Catherine Grant, Goldsmiths, University of London
Geraldine A. Johnson, University of Oxford
Debbie Lewer, University of Glasgow
Marsha Meskimmon, Loughborough University
Tom Nickson, Courtauld Institute of Art
Sam Rose, University of St Andrews
Michael Squire, King’s College London
Richard Taws, University College London
Kamini Vellodi, University of Edinburgh
Francesco Ventrella, University of Sussex

International Advisory Board
Julia Bryan-Wilson, University of California, Berkeley
Huey Copeland, Northwestern University
Paul Duro, University of Rochester
Darby English, University of Chicago
Cécile Fromont, Yale University
Christopher P. Heuer, University of Rochester
Amelia Jones, University of Southern California
Joan Kee, University of Michigan
Emanuele Lugli, Stanford University
Meredith Martin, New York University
Gwendolyn DuBois Shaw, University of Pennsylvania
Bronwen Wilson, University of California, Los Angeles